You are here:

Undergraduate Council

Responsibilities & Composition

Undergraduate education is a major mission of the University. The Undergraduate Council, working closely with colleges, departments, and programs, is responsible for many of the policies that shape our the education of students at the University of Utah. Members of the Council are elected from a broad range of colleges and departments that offer undergraduate degrees along with representatives from ASUU, the Library, and other areas that work closely with undergraduate education. The Council works best when it promotes a lively exchange of views on policies vital to the education of students.

The Council is responsible for coordinating and encouraging the development of undergraduate studies across the University and overseeing all university-wide undergraduate requirements. It is charged with maintaining a program of general education and other graduation requirements in cooperation with the academic departments and colleges. The Council reviews and evaluates proposals for new certificates, degrees, and undergraduate programs not located in or associated with graduate programs. Additionally, the Undergraduate Council collaborates with the Graduate Council in reviewing undergraduate programs based in departments that award graduate degrees. The Undergraduate Council also serves as the selection committee for University Professor and for the McMurrin Distinguished Visiting Professor.

Meeting Schedule

Undergraduate Council meetings are held on the third Thursdays of the month from 1:30 – 3:30pm during the academic year. The Council meets in the Large Conference Room (Room 120) of the Sill Center.

Fall 2017 Meetings

  • Thursday, September 21st at 1:30 – 3:30pm
  • Thursday, October 19th at 1:30 - 3:30pm
  • Thursday, November 16th at 1:30 – 3:30pm
  • Thursday, December 14th at 1:30 - 3:30pm

Spring 2018 Meetings

  • Thursday, January 25th at 1:30 – 3:30 pm
  • Thursday, February 15th at 1:30 – 3:30pm
  • Thursday, March 15th at 1:30 – 3:30pm
  • Thursday, April 19th at 1:30 – 3:30pm

Council Roster

Ann Darling Chair Undergraduate Studies/Communication
Lynn Bohs
Member Biology
Alla Borisyuk
Member Math
Erin Carraher
Member Architecture + Planning
Krista Carlson
Member Metallurgical Engineering
Jason Castillo
Member Social Work
Ann Engar
Member Honors
Christopher German
Member Dentistry
Mark Glick
Member Economics
Sara Hart
Member Nursing
Jane Hatter
Member Music
Debra Mascaro
Member Mechanical Engineering
Felicity Murphy
Member Law Library
Monisha Pasupathi
Member Psychology
Jeremy Rosen
Member English
Armando Solorzano
Member Cultural & Social Transformation
Elizabeth Tashjian
Member Business/Finance
Christie Toth
Member Writing & Rhetoric
Veronica Valdez Member Education
Mary Wells
Member Health
Merilee Anderson
Ex officio Continuing Educaiton & Community Engagement
Martha Bradley Ex officio UGS/Academic Affairs/Architecture + Planning
Marissa Diener
Ex officio LEAP/Family & Consumer Studies
Tim Ebner
Ex officio Registrar's/Student Affairs
Beth Howard
Ex officio Academic Advising Center
Sabine Klahr
Ex officio Global Engagement
Dean McGovern
Ex officio Bennion Center
Fernando Rubio
Ex officio UOnline
Patrick Tripeny
Ex officio CTLE/Architecture + Planning
Katie Ullman
Ex officio Graduate School
Ann Blanchard Staff Undergraduate Studies
Mark St. Andre Staff Undergraduate Studies
Sabrina Hancock
Student Social Science
 Anna Barnes
 Kaitlin McLean
 Emina Tatarevic

Courses Under Council Review

Last Updated: 10/2/17